A Painted Pickguard and the Benefits of Limits


Yesterday, in a sort of spur of the moment opportunity, I painted the pickguard on my boyfriend’s bass guitar. He (the same fellow for whom I designed this guitar seen in an earlier post) put down the guard, newly spray-painted midnight blue, in front of me on the table. Pushing blue and yellow paint pens at me, he said “paint something!” I almost declined to do so–these things require planning, you know! But before I knew it, and truly I don’t really remember how it came about, I was painting the Old Man in the Moon.

I think the moral of the story is that limits can be good. We tend to think they are stifling; we want limitless possibilities. But the truth is that sometimes limits stimulate creativity. If I’d had more than two colors with which to work, I might never have come up with an idea. Learn to look at limits as opportunities…you might surprise yourself.

One thought on “A Painted Pickguard and the Benefits of Limits

  1. I know exactly what you mean. In the past, when I’ve had seemingly infinite choices in front of me, I end up doing nothing, because I can’t narrow down just what it is I want to do, or even should be doing. If my choices are more limited, weirdly, it because easier to do things because it becomes easier to pick out what I want to do most.

Leave a Reply

